This morning was no different than any other morning.  I woke up, stretched my poor broken foot, got out of bed, opened the bedroom door, and saw this:

Every single morning.  This beautiful face is waiting outside my door.  His tail is wagging, his mouth is smiling (talk about projection), and he is overjoyed.  He can barely contain himself.  And all because I opened the door to see him.

 

Eric and I talk a lot about the similarities between the relationship between people and God, and between people and dogs.

A quick example: when we first arrived to live with our in-laws for this season of our lives, the sweet face above was a terror.  He had absolutely no boundaries, meaning he had absolutely no manners.  As Eric and I took on the task of “training” him, we realized that the more self-discipline he had in his life, the more freedoms he gained–something I consider true of our relationships with God.  The more self-discipline we have, the more freedom we have to explore our relationship with God.

 

This morning I was struck with the image of Moses (ironically, often called Lucifer) waiting outside our door.  Just to see us.  How amazing would it be for us to have the excitement to abandon all other pursuits–in Moses’ case: barking at the UPS guy, standing at the front window to see if any neighbor passed by at whom he could bark, trying to steal shoes without anyone noticing; in my case: reading, writing, kayaking, looking for a job, looking for a home–to simply wait outside God’s door just to catch a glimpse of him?  Why don’t we do that?

At the same time, I felt that Moses could also be God in this picture.  I thought of Psalm 9:10 that says: “those who know your name will trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.”  How easy is it to open the door and, in the rush of the day starting with things to do and people to see and life to live, just walk past the excited and expectant God/dog?  To simply pass by because there are distractions that need our attention.

 

I’ve found myself recently feeling busier than ever before.  Strange though, that I don’t have a job, I don’t have a masters program to finish, I don’t have anything to do.  But days pass by in a blur or busyness.  And during these “busy” times, I find myself forgetting to take time to seek the faithful God who is bigger than all of my fears/distractions/problems/busyness.

 

 

What do you think?  What would it look like for you to just wait outside the door?  And God/dogs?  The same, right?

