Tags

, , , , ,

Silas is a smokejumper with only one regret…the way he left Elle all those years ago.  And now, in the direst of circumstances, they meet again.  This time though, he might not have the chance to apologize, as they might now survive what they find in the Desolation Wilderness.
What a story!  I really enjoyed reading Shawn Grady’s Falls Like Lightning.  It was fast paced, intriguing, and well-written.
While the cover made me skeptical (kind of cheesy, in my opinion), I was impressed with Grady’s storytelling.  His characters popped from the page as they fought for their lives in the wilds of the Sierra Nevada.  As a former California girl and Desolation hiker, I loved imagining Silas and Elle hiking through the terrain with which I’m familiar.  From my favorite lunch spot on the top of Mt. Tallac, you can see way out into the Desolation Wilderness.  
Grady did an incredible job describing the area and the terrain, as well as captivating the reader with a thrilling plot line.  I would recommend this book to a reader looking for fast paced action with a hint of Christian themes.  I am thankful for the complimentary review copy from Bethany House.  My opinions are my own honest ramblings.
