I really struggled while reading Gina Holmes’ latest novel, Dry as Rain.  It’s well-written and interesting, but the content is hard to stomach.  Don’t get me wrong though; that’s what I think made this such a good book.

 

Eric and Kyra have been married for many years, and with their son, Benji, had many happy years.  But the happiness slowly got lost in daily life and before Eric knew it, he was making choices he couldn’t ever take back.  Before he knew it, their marriage was ending and there was nothing he could do to stop it.  But, when Kyra loses pieces of her recent memory in an accident, a window of a second chance seems to loom ahead of Eric.  Their lives are enhanced by their son, Benji, and his world that has also come crashing down.  I appreciated that Eric’s character was revealed more deeply in his interactions with his son.

 

Even though it was a difficult read (reading about infidelity is always difficult, I think, even if it’s not something you’ve personally experienced), I was thankful for the truthful reminder that flowed throughout the book.  The truth that God can redeem all things hit me over and over again as I read about Eric  and Benji, Eric and Kyra, and their lifelong dreams.

Thanks, Tyndale, for the review copy of Dry as Rain by Gina Holmes.  I really appreciate being pointed to God and his truths as I read, and this novel did exactly that.

