Right on the heels of reading a great new post by my favorite blogger, Rachel Held Evans, I finished an amazing book by Jim Henderson, The Resignation of Eve.

My husband always teases me and says I’m a feminist (like it’s a bad thing :)) but I realized after reading The Resignation of Eve, that I am simply all for humans, particularly women.  It bothers me that some women are not allowed to live their dreams and live life as they’d like simply because they are a woman.  One of Henderson’s case studies, Kathleen said something that stuck with me, “So a thirteen-year-old boy could speak into the microphone without checking in with anyone…but I wanted to do the same thing, I was required to get my husband’s permission” (132).

Henderson’s book combined two things I’m passionate about: injustice and women.  How the two intersect within the church is the subject of Henderson’s text and he does an impressive job of showing the many different relationships women can have within the body of Christ.  The format of the book, fifteen case studies interspersed with Henderson’s commentary, was interesting.  I don’t necessarily know if it was the most effective way to present the topic, but it worked.

While I found the case studies to be engaging (I love hearing people’s stories, as sad and difficult to read as many of these were), I found Henderson’s commentary at the beginning and end of the book to be my favorite part.  The statistics from the Barna group were interesting and sometimes shocking (in the last ten years, there has been a 20% decrease in women attending church services!) and I sure loved Lynne Hybels’ foreword.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading the perspectives found in Jim Henderson’s The Resignation of Eve: what if Adam’s rib is no longer willing to be the church’s backbone?  It took me quite some time to finish it as it was challenging but it was well worth the time spent.  My opinions, theological and otherwise, are always changing and being self-questioned so reading this book was a good investment of time for me.

Thank you, Tyndale, for the review copy of The Resignation of Eve.  Please continue publishing books that challenge the church to look at women’s involvement and ability to participate fully and freely in the body of Christ.  These are my honest opinions.

