I am not a TV watcher.  My husband wishes I was so we could brainlessly veg to some silly show (I will admit that we love Top Gear and watch that each week) but I am just not a TV person.  I’m happy to curl up on the couch next to him while he watches TV but I want a book!  For me, fluff books can be my brainless veg time instead of TV.  It’s during the time I’m reading a cheesy book that I find myself relaxing.

Becky Wade’s novel My Stubborn Heart did just that for me.  I caught myself laughing aloud, engrossed in her story.  It was a quick read, definitely.  A little fluffy, yes.  But it was also just what I needed to take my mind off the current stressors in my life.  I was able to join the world of Kate, Matt, and the cooky old folks they are surrounded by in Redbud.

Kate and her grandmother are remodeling the family’s old home but the man they hired to renovate is a distraction, to say the least.  Matt is caught up in his own world, his own problems.  His wife, dead, his career, over, his faith, shattered.  But as the hard work he does to keep everyone out becomes more difficult with Kate’s insistence on finding out more and more about Matt and his pain, Matt’s defenses begin to crumble.  With a crazy cast of senior citizens to cause mischief all around, Matt and Kate’s connection grows.

Wade’s story is well-written, funny, and entertaining.  It is one of those books that draws you in and next thing you know, the bath water is cold and your fingers and toes have turned into prunes (true story).  I really enjoyed Wade’s characterization, especially Morty and Velma.  I laughed, I cried, I enjoyed.

Thank you, Bethany House publishers, for a review copy in exchange for my honest opinions.

