It’s not often that I read a memoir but when I do, I usually enjoy them. I was surprised at how little I enjoyed Christina Schofield’s memoir, My Life and Lesser Catastrophes.

Although I felt like the majority of her story was whiny and dramatic, I could definitely see the ways God was and has been faithful to Christina, Allen, and Lily. They went through and will continue going through some very difficult times; I do not mean to diminish the struggles and pain in her life. The self-deprecating humor was extensive and the humor was maybe just not in line with my sense of it. I wanted to enjoy this memoir but I struggled to do so.

I am thankful for Schofield’s honesty and her ability to see God’s hand in their lives but I don’t think that their story translated too well to memoir the way it was formatted.

Thank you, Bethany House for the opportunity to read My Life and Lesser Catastrophes in the form of a review copy; these are my honest opinions.

